Management, Board of Directors and personnel

General Shareholders’ Meeting

EPV Energy Ltd’s highest authority is vested in the General Shareholders’ Meeting, which elects the Board and makes decisions on statutory issues, as well as on other issues specifically defined in the Articles of Association.

Board of Directors

The Board of Directors is responsible for the company’s administration and for organising the company’s operations according to the law, Articles of Association and the decisions of the General Shareholders’ Meeting. The Board also supervises the company’s operations and administration and makes decisions on company strategy, operational policy, significant investments and financing. The Board is elected for one year at a time in an Ordinary General Shareholders’ Meeting. The Board has 10–12 ordinary members and five deputy members. The deputy members have the right to attend General Meetings. The Chair of the Board is nominated by the largest shareholder. The Vice Chair is nominated by the Board.

Members of the Board in 2021:

Members of the Board:

  • Olli Arola, Director
  • Stefan Damlin, CEO
  • Jouni Haikarainen, CEO (Vice Chair of the Board – until 26 March 2021)
  • Vesa Hätilä, CEO (Vice Chair of the Board – starting from 26 March 2021)
  • Miapetra Kumpula-Natri, Member of the European Parliament (Chair of the Board)
  • Anders Renvall, CEO
  • Joakim Strand, Member of Parliament
  • Markku Vartia, Director
  • Juha-Pekka Weckström, CEO
  • Jukka Ylitalo, CEO

Deputy members:

  • Roger Holm, CEO
  • Juha Juntunen, CEO
  • Ahti Källi, CEO
  • Kari Roos, Director
  • Hans-Alexander Öst, Director

CEO and Management Team

The company’s CEO is Rami Vuola (MSc) and his Deputy CEO is CFO Mats Söderlund (MSc). The Management Team also includes the following members:

  • Sami Kuitunen
  • Frans Liski
  • Reima Neva
  • Niko Paaso
  • Mats Söderlund

Subsidiary management

The subsidiaries and affiliated companies belonging to the EPV Energy Ltd Group have their own administrative bodies, in the management and supervision of which EPV actively participates.


In the General Meeting, the audit firm Ernst & Young Oy was elected Ordinary Auditor for the period until the Ordinary General Shareholders’ Meeting in 2022, with Mikko Rytilahti (CA) and Kristian Berg (CA) as the main responsible Auditors and Anders Svennas (CA) and Marja Huhtala (CA) as Vice Auditors.


In line with our strategy, we want to make sure that we keep pace with, and ideally stay at the forefront of, the changes and transformation in the sector. Maintaining the know-how of the EPV Energy Group’s personnel plays a key role in ensuring the profitability of the Group’s business activities and maintaining the continuous development of its operations.

Our personnel consist of professionals and experts in their fields who have diverse experience of the energy sector spanning more than four decades. Our competent and skilled employees are our most important resource.

EPV aims to ensure the commitment, motivation and continuous development of its personnel. We strive to guarantee a healthy and safe working environment, while nurturing a culture of doing things together. We want to be a safe and inspiring place to work. EPV strives to take exemplary care of occupational safety matters. The company’s goal is to build a working environment in which occupational accidents do not occur. Occupational safety was monitored through the usual methods in 2021 in all the Group’s companies, including all external personnel working with EPV. Safety is monitored in several different categories in the Group’s companies.

In 2021, the average number of EPV Energy Group personnel was 118 (115). At the end of the year:

  • EPV Energy had 64 (56) employees
  • EPV Alueverkko had 5 (4) employees
  • Tornion Voima Oy had 26 (27) employees
  • Seinäjoen Voima Oy had 25 (25) employees

At the end of 2021, of the Group’s total personnel, 56 were managerial employees, 32 professional employees and 32 lower-level employees.